Stop Circus Suffering

Take action today for circus animals in Idaho!

Live in Idaho? Help the students from Sage School pass ordinances banning wild animals from traveling circuses in several towns and cities.

Your help is needed to win change for circus animals in Idaho!

Idaho is currently a hotbed of action to help circus animals thanks to students from Sage School who have been presenting evidence and urging Councilmembers and Commissioners in Ketchum, Blaine County, Sun Valley and Hailey to pass ordinances that will ban wild animals from traveling circuses. However groups like the Circus Fans of America are pushing back—calling and flooding city office inboxes with emails discouraging community leaders from passing these important protections.

The presentations of the Sage School students are the culmination of their research from an independent study group, “The Elephant Student Project.” Local ADI supporter and facilitator for the students, Maya Burrell, shared ADI’s evidence showing the inherent suffering and public safety issues surrounding the use of wild animals in traveling circuses.  During the students’ presentations, our  Stop Circus Suffering DVD is also played as a backdrop. Pictured above are students: Sam Laski, Will Griffith, Harrison Blamires, Devon Brown, Evathea Drougas, Kayla Chaffey.

ADI applauds the Ketchum City Council and Blaine County Commissioners for unanimously voting recently to progress separate bans on wild animals in circuses in their communities and we are so impressed with the students for empowering themselves and educating their communities to make a difference for animals. In both jurisdictions, the proposed ordinances will not be officially codified until they have completed a public process which includes more hearings of the proposals.

We need your help to ensure  the hard work of the students pays off for the animals!

What you can do: Please call and email the leaders of the following four communities.

Hailey City Council

TAKE ACTION: Thank the Council for scheduling a presentation from Sage School students about wild animals in traveling circuses. Urge them to take action and pass an ordinance banning the use of wild animals in circuses.

Council Member Carol Brown carol.brown@haileycityhall.org 208-788-4221 ext. 0
Council Member Martha Burke burkefamily203@cox.net 208-788-3144
Council Member Don Keirn don.keirn@haileycityhall.org 208-788-4659
Council Member Pat Cooley pat.cooley@haileycityhall.org 208-788-4221 ext. 0

 

Ketchum City Council

TAKE ACTION: Thank the Council for voting unanimously in favor of progressing a ban on wild animals in circuses.

Mayor Nina Jonas njonas@ketchumidaho.org
Council President Michael David mdavid@ketchumidaho.org
Councilor Anne Corrock acorrock@ketchumidaho.org
Councilor Baird Gourlay bgourlay@ketchumidaho.org
Councilor Jim Slanetz jslanetz@ketchumidaho.org

 

Sun Valley City Council

TAKE ACTION: Thank the Council for agreeing to discuss a ban on wild animals in traveling circuses. Urge them to pass an ordinance to protect them.

Mayor Dewayne Briscoe dbriscoe@svidaho.org
Council President Keith Saks ksaks@svidaho.org
Council Member Michelle Griffith mgriffith@svidaho.org
Council Member Franz Suhadolnik fsuhadolnik@svidaho.org
Council Member Peter Hendricks phendricks@svidaho.org

 

Blaine County Commissioners

TAKE ACTION: Thank the Council for voting unanimously in favor of progressing a ban on wild animals in circuses.

Chairman Larry Schoen lschoen@co.blaine.id.us 208-788-5500  ext.1124
Commissioner Jacob Greenberg jgreenberg@co.blaine.id.us 208-788-5500 ext. 1176
Commissioner Angenie McCleary amccleary@co.blaine.id.us 208-788-5500, ext. 1173

 

Please use your own words, and keep your message short and polite, but you may want to include one or more of these facts:

  • Studies show that circuses cannot meet the physical or behavioral needs of wild animals.
  • Animals are confined in small spaces, deprived of physical and social needs, spending excessive amounts of time shut in trailers and train cars.
  • These animals are often seen behaving abnormally; rocking, swaying and pacing, all indicating that they are in distress and not coping with their environment.
  • Video evidence has shown how these animals are forced to perform tricks through physical violence, fear and intimidation.

Please also consider sending  a donation today and  help ADI continue  to expose the suffering of circus animals and campaigning for change.

Thank you for taking action!

Comments

  1. Sylvie Bernadet · 9 May 2014 at 5:25a

    Please they need to be free. Stop to win money whith them. They are slaves, sad to have a life like this.

  2. Severine Mellinger · 9 May 2014 at 5:25a

    Wild animals dont belong in the circus. I think thats really time to ban this.

Leave a comment on this story

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.